If You Change Your Labels, You’ll Change Your Life

How to powerfully decide (and become) who you want to be.

Reece Robertson
3 min readOct 27, 2022
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Everything you see and feel in life is based on perception. There are no objective meanings in this world. Instead, there are only subjective meanings we each ascribe ourselves.

Through the lens of your personal learning and experiences is how you see yourself and the world. As Dr. Stephen Covey has said,

“You see the world, not as it is, but as you’ve been conditioned to see it.”

Hence, if you change your lens, you’ll see a different view. As Dr. Wayne Dyer similarly wrote, “When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.”

Although if you assume a label for yourself. E.g. “I’m fat,” “I’m ugly,” or “I’m depressed,” then all questions of change now end.

No longer are you looking to have your paradigm shifted. Instead, everything you see is to confirm your label.

For example, someone who calls themselves an “introvert” will go through life explaining and justifying themselves based upon that label. They might say, “I can’t get up on stage and give a presentation because I’m an introvert.

--

--

Reece Robertson

I talk about content writing & personal growth | Connect with me @ ReeceRobertson.net